Skip to Content
chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up chevron-right chevron-left arrow-back star phone quote checkbox-checked search wrench info shield play connection mobile coin-dollar spoon-knife ticket pushpin location gift fire feed bubbles home heart calendar price-tag credit-card clock envelop facebook instagram twitter youtube pinterest yelp google reddit linkedin envelope bbb pinterest homeadvisor angies

Indianapolis OVWI Defense Attorney

In Indiana, OWI/DWI offenses include operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OVWI) and operating a vehicle with an alcohol concentration equivalent (ACE) of .08 percent or higher. While you were likely charged with both offenses simultaneously, these are two separate crimes that need two defenses.

Due to the complexity of OVWI cases in Indiana, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney. Some attorneys do not understand that OVWI and ACE offenses are separate charges. If your attorney doesn’t understand this, he or she will not be able to adequately defend you. Attorney John L. Tompkins has the experience to take complex OVWI cases and fight them at trial. For a consultation with an Indianapolis OVWI defense lawyer, please call 317-631-6866.

lawyer shaking hands with client at courthouse

You Must Have An Experienced Attorney To Fight The Charges

Under Indiana law, operating a vehicle while intoxicated means that a person was under the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination of the two. The statute does not require a specific ACE/BAC for this offense. OVWI charges, therefore, are more subjective than charges of operating with an ACE of .08 or greater or .15 or greater. Each charge needs its own defense and if the case goes to trial, you must beat both charges to be acquitted.

Driver’s License Suspension

In addition to the criminal charges, you may face two driver’s license suspensions. The Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) will suspend your license for 180 days for failing a chemical (blood, breath or urine) test. If you are convicted, the court can give you another license suspension with a minimum of 90 days for a first offense.

Chemical test refusal will result in a one-year suspension from the BMV for a first offense. If convicted, you will receive an additional suspension.

A hardship license is available after 30 days for first offenders who took the chemical test(s). All offenders can ask for an ignition interlock device order that will allow them to drive once it is installed. To schedule a consultation, please call 317-631-6866 or contact us online.

We’re Here to Help You